2017-2018 Wildflower Fund Recipients

In 2017-18, we distributed $53,000 from the Wildflower Fund (Wildflower Run registrations, corporate sponsorships, and individual donations) in support of education and equity for women and girls. Funds raised were allocated to the following:

Provide scholarships to high school girls graduating from Morgan Hill Unified School District (MHUSD) schools.

Some of our 2018 Scholarship recipients at the Wildflower Run with Dr. Kathleen Rose, President of Gavilan Community College

Name High School College Major or Field of Study
Julia Arenas Central High School Cosmetology / Business
Ariana Berumen Live Oak High School Sociology & Education
Valery Coritreros Live Oak High School Sociology
Jenna Fields Ann Sobrato High School Agriculture
Lyssa Fuentes Live Oak High School Political Science / Law
Kelsy Pike Ann Sobrato High School Nursing
Anmol Sandher Ann Sobrato High School Neuroscience
Arabella Williams Live Oak High School Biology

Provide “Re-Entry Scholarships” to local women reentering college after a gap in their education.

Anita Alvarez Gavilan College Psychology
Michelle Castro Gavilan College Spanish & Communications
Diana Ochoa Zapata Gavilan College Business

Provide “Lauren Jenkins Healthcare Profession Scholarships” to college students from Morgan Hill who are pursuing a degree in a healthcare profession.

Three of our seven Gavilan Re-Entry and Healthcare Profession Scholarship recipients

Name College Major or Field of Study
Rebecca Ayala Gavilan College Nursing
Paulina Beltran Gavilan College Nursing
Maria Marin Navarrete Gavilan College Nursing
Rosemary Sanchez Gavilan College Nursing

Provide supplemental Keeping In Touch (KIT) grants to previous scholarship recipients to support them as they continue in their field of study.

Name College Major or Field of Study
Jordyne Atkins Agricultural Business
Michaela Austin UC Santa Barbara
Lindsay Baker Nursing
Jacquelyn Cook Gavilan College Nursing
Diana Fuentes San Jose State Sociology
Raya Kavosh Political Science
Shelby McDonald California Baptist University Sociology
Shannon Mortela CSU Monterey Bay Social Work
Lydia Riojas San Jose State Business Administration
Lifen Shi Bio-Engineering
Melissa Vasquez UC Santa Barbara Physical Therapy
Tiffany Ziegelman Gavilan College Dental Hygienist

Sponsor a college student from Morgan Hill to participate in NCCWSL (National Conference for College Women Student Leaders).

NCCWSL is an annual national leadership conference for college women. Funding includes travel expenses plus conference registration.

Julianna Cisneros Gavilan Community College Administrative Justice

NEW in 2018: Provide funding and mentorship for local teens to host an all-day Future Women Leaders Conference, open to local high school and college students.

Conference attendees (with student organizers in the front)

Provide Community Action Grants to local non-profit organizations for projects whose goals are consistent with AAUW’s mission.

Community Closet, St. Catherine Parish Backpacks and supplies for preschoolers and kinders
Learning and Loving Education Center Supplies for Literacy for Immigrant Women writing program
BookSmart Community Advantage Gift of Reading Books for under-served youth
Discovery Counseling Center Bold Journey (youth mentoring) for MHUSD elementary school students
South Valley Science Fair Monetary awards for winners
Future Women’s Leadership Conference Partial funding for leadership skills conference for 100 high school and community college students
Yearbook Club, El Toro Health Science Academy Tablets for photography and yearbook design

Support Girls Engaged in Math and Science (GEMS), a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) after-school enrichment program.

GEMS is sponsored by AAUW Morgan Hill and consisting of monthly field trips, lectures, and other programs. GEMS is free and open to all girls in the Morgan Hill Unified School District in grades 8 through 12.

Sponsor a local speech competition as part of Speech Trek, a state-wide AAUW program.

First, second, and third place winners each received cash prizes. Our first place winner also went on to win the state contest.

Shria Bulusu (1st) Oakwood School
Tiffany La (2nd) Ann Sobrato High School
Sofia Rustor (3rd) Oakwood School

Provide scholarships to send MHUSD Middle School students to Tech Trek, an AAUW-sponsored one week math and science summer camp at Stanford University for middle school girls.

2018 Tech Trek Campers helping at the Wildflower Run

Iris Chiang Jackson Academy of Math & Music
Isabella Niebla Britton Middle School
Citlali Flores-Regalado San Martin/Gwinn Environmental Science Academy
Ria Deshpande Britton Middle School
Jacquelyn Lopez-Serrano San Martin/Gwinn Environmental Science Academy
Samantha Sasaki Charter School of Morgan Hill
Lavenia Turagovou Martin Murphy Middle School
Madeline Marie Johnson Martin Murphy Middle School
Melina Kwarcinski (Alt #1) Martin Murphy Middle School
Morgyn Tilton (Alt #2) San Martin/Gwinn Environmental Science Academy

Provide an additional lump sum grant to the Tech Trek camp at Stanford University.

Uses may include extra capital needs such as technology upgrades or additional enrichment such as more field trips.

Sponsor branch participation in the Leadership Morgan Hill class of 2018.

Suman Ganapathy AAUW Morgan Hill branch member

Offer to local high school students a “Lauren Jenkins STEM Workshop”.

This workshop is funded through individual donations in memory of AAUW member, geneticist, and GEMS founder Dr. Lauren Jenkins and offered in collaboration with Anaerobe Systems.

Underwrite national AAUW priorities. These include graduate fellowships for women, community action grants, pioneering research, public policy advocacy, legal advocacy, and leadership programs.

Add to our “Morgan Hill Wildflower Run Research and Projects Grant Endowment.”

This $75,000 endowment was established in 2014, to be funded by proceeds from the Wildflower Run. When completed, the endowment will support community action and career development grants.

Another branch endowment, the $100,000 Blaine/Cate Endowment for Graduate Fellowships (#1802) was completed in 2001. It funds an annual graduate or postgraduate fellowship.

Alani Hicks-Bartlett UC Berkeley Postdoctoral, Political Science/Romance Languages/Gender Studies/Disability Studies
The Cure Gone Awry. Gender, Dis.ability, and the Ailing Empire