2010-11 Wildflower Fund Recipients

Home|2010-11 Wildflower Fund Recipients
2010-11 Wildflower Fund Recipients 2019-04-22T22:13:26-07:00

2010-2011 Wildflower Fund Recipients

In 2011 Wildflower Fund monies (run registrations, corporate sponsorships, and individual donations) were allocated to the following:

Provide scholarships to high school girls graduating from Morgan Hill Unified School District (MHUSD) schools.

Julie Alatorre (shown with Margaret McCann, High School Scholarship Chair) is the first member of her family to attend college.

Julie Alatorre Live Oak High School San Jose State University Nursing
Amy McBirney Ann Sobrato High School UC Davis Dairy Science
Deysi Moncada Central High School Evergreen Community College Nursing
Serena Palacios-Castro Central High School Gavilan Community College Bilingual Education

Provide scholarships to local women attending Gavilan College.

Veronica Barraza Gavilan Community College Nursing
Tamara Chukes transferring to Mills College Business
Aimee Santos Gavilan Community College classes toward MFA in photography

NEW: Provide supplemental Keeping In Touch (KIT) grants to previous scholarship recipients to support them as they continue in their field of study.

Veronica Barraza Gavilan Community College Nursing
Tamara Chukes transferring to Mills College Business

Support Girls Engaged in Math and Science (GEMS), a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) after-school enrichment program, sponsored by AAUW Morgan Hill and consisting of monthly field trips, lectures, and other programs. GEMS is free and open to all girls in the Morgan Hill Unified School District in grades 8 through 12.

Provide scholarships to send MHUSD Middle School students to Tech Trek, an AAUW-sponsored one week math and science summer camp at Stanford University for middle school girls.

2011 Tech Trek campers at Stanford University

Sophia Barker Britton Middle School
Savannah Brown Britton Middle School
Janine Bautista Martin Murphy Middle School
Julia Leal Britton Middle School
Sarah Machado Britton Middle School
MacKenzie Mitchell Britton Middle School
Vivian Nguyen Martin Murphy Middle School
Abigail Pfefferlen Charter School of Morgan Hill

NEW: Provide an additional lump sum grant to the Tech Trek camp at Stanford University. Uses may include extra capital needs such as technology upgrades or additional enrichment such as more field trips.

Underwrite national AAUW priorities. These include graduate fellowships for women, community action grants, pioneering research, public policy advocacy,legal advocacy,and leadership programs.

In addition, a branch endowment, the $100,000 Blaine/Cate Endowment for Graduate Fellowships (#1802) was completed in 2001. It funds an annual graduate or postgraduate fellowship.

Charlotte Lapsansky USC Ph.D. Communications research Shifting Norms and Values for Gender Equality: Using Communication Infrastructure Theory as a Framework for Communication Campaign Design