2014-2015 Wildflower Fund Recipients

In 2015, Wildflower Fund monies (run registrations, corporate sponsorships, and individual donations) were allocated to the following:

Scholarship recipients Naromy Ramirez, Lydia Riojas, and Jade Cortez volunteering at the 2015 Run

Provide scholarships to high school girls graduating from Morgan Hill Unified School District (MHUSD) schools.

Name High School College Major or Field of Study
Estephanie Coreas Live Oak High School University of Iowa Biology
Christine Emuka Live Oak High School Pre-medicine
Diana Fuentes Live Oak High School San Jose State Sociology & Deaf Studies
Claire Lewis Ann Sobrato High School Chemistry
Jessica Wong Ann Sobrato High School Computer Science

Provide “Re-Entry Scholarships” to local women reentering college after a gap in their education.

Name College Major or Field of Study
Tami Bittle Gavilan College Child Advocacy
Jade Cortez Gavilan College Nursing
Anika Mathewson Gavilan College CSU Monterey Bay
Naromy Ramirez San Jose State Education
Lydia Riojas

Provide supplemental Keeping In Touch (KIT) grants to previous scholarship recipients to support them as they continue in their field of study.

Former High School Scholarship Recipients

Name College Major or Field of Study
Mireya Avila UC Santa Cruz Political Science
Alejandra Cruz UC Santa Barbara Sociology
Madeline Duran Gavilan College transferring to San Jose State University
Amy McBirney UC Davis Veterinary Medicine
Camila Rico UC Berkeley Chinese Economy & Relations
Whitney Waller CSU Sacramento Psychology


Former Re-Entry Scholarship Recipients

Name Major or Field of Study
Marni Braverman Teaching Credential
Mindy Castillo Computer Technology
Tamara Chukes Business
Veronica Dimas Business

Support Girls Engaged in Math and Science (GEMS), a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) after-school enrichment program.

GEMS is sponsored by AAUW Morgan Hill and consists of monthly field trips, lectures, and other programs. GEMS is free and open to all girls in the Morgan Hill Unified School District in grades 8 through 12.

Sponsor a local speech competition as part of Speech Trek, a state-wide AAUW program.

First, second, and third place winners each received cash prizes.

McKenna McElroy (1st) Oakwood School
Nina Singh (2nd) Oakwood School
Roxanne Ohayon (3rd) Oakwood School

Provide scholarships to send MHUSD Middle School students to Tech Trek, an AAUW-sponsored one week math and science summer camp at Stanford University for middle school girls.

2015 Tech Trek campers

Sophia Benefiel Britton Middle School
Emily Munoz Martin Murphy Middle School
Hannah Pfefferlen Charter School of Morgan Hill
Kailani Simms Charter School of Morgan Hill
Rebecca Snook Jackson Academy of Math & Music
Talia Vaillancourt Britton Middle School
Siena Verdon Charter School of Morgan Hill
Tessa Zhang Martin Murphy Middle School

Provide an additional lump sum grant to the Tech Trek camp at Stanford University.

Uses may include extra capital needs such as technology upgrades or additional enrichment such as more field trips.

Sponsor branch participation in the Leadership Morgan Hill class of 2015.

Maggie Leininger AAUW Morgan Hill branch member

Underwrite national AAUW priorities. These include graduate fellowships for women, community action grants, pioneering research, public policy advocacy, legal advocacy,and leadership programs.

Add to our “Morgan Hill Wildflower Run Research and Projects Grant Endowment.”

This $75,000 endowment was established in 2014, to be funded by proceeds from the Wildflower Run. When completed, the endowment will support community action and career development grants.

Another branch endowment, the $100,000 Blaine/Cate Endowment for Graduate Fellowships (#1802) was completed in 2001. It funds an annual graduate or postgraduate fellowship.

Gabriela Montes UC Santa Cruz Postdoctoral Astrophysics Unveiling the Enigmatic Properties of Massive Stars through Stellar Wind Interactions